Prof. Dr. Hans-Peter Steinrück and Prof. Enrique Zuazua PhD appointed Henriette Herz Scouts

Success for two professors of the Faculty of Sciences

Prof. Dr. Steinrück (on the left) und Prof. Dr. Zuzua (Photo: Erich Malter; Zuazua)

The Alexander von Humboldt Foundation has appointed two members of the Faculty of Sciences, Prof. Dr. Hans-Peter Steinrück, Chair of Physical Chemistry II, and Prof. Dr. Enrique Zuazua, Chair of Dynamics, Control and Numerics, as Henriette Herz Scouts. In this funding program, scouts can attract up to three outstanding young foreign scientists with a PhD degree to FAU. The selected candidates receive a Humboldt Research Fellowship for two years without an additional time-consuming review process.

Prof. Dr. Hans-Peter Steinrück holds the Chair of Physical Chemistry II. His research group investigates the physics and chemistry of surfaces. In addition to numerous awards, he received an ERC Advanced Grant in 2016 for his outstanding fundamental research in the field of ionic liquids. He was also elected to the National Academy of Sciences, the Leopoldina, in 2016 and to the European Academy of Sciences (EURASC) in 2018. He is Editor-in-Chief of the journal Surface Science, as well as a member of the Scientific Advisory Board in the field of “Matter” at the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT), Helmholtz Center since 2019.

Prof. Dr. Enrique Zuazua has held the Humboldt Professorship in Dynamics, Control and Numerics at FAU since 2019. He is a leader in the field of applied mathematics, working on partial differential equations, control theory, and numerics. He leads the European Research Council (ERC) funded research project “DyCon: Dynamic Control” at the Deusto Foundation, the University of Deusto – Bilbao (Basque Country, Spain) and the Department of Mathematics at the Autonomous University of Madrid (UAM), where he is also Professor of Applied Mathematics (UAM) and Director of the Department of Computational Mathematics (CCM) (Deusto).